Home > Uncategorized > Stupid Outlook Connector

Stupid Outlook Connector

Previously if one paid for Hotmail Plus they got the ability to sync Outlook with Windows Live Hotmail. There are other benefits that come from Plus, but that was the one which I wanted the most. On September first they disabled the ability. Apparently the protocol they used is called WebDav. Now personally I don’t like WebDav and was happy when I learned that Exchange dropped support of the protocol. I didn’t know that was the protocol which Outlook used to connect with Hotmail. For the last few years, the Hotmail team has been offering the Outlook Live Connector. I tried the connector before and was so horrified by the results I uninstalled in two days.

The reasons are because calendering goes straight to crap, and all syncs go through send and receive. The new calendering experience is nowhere nearly as nice now, and I have to do a send/receive to sync even the simpliest changes, just has moving an email to a different folder where I didn’t have to do that before.

I realize this change is better for the servers, but I sure don’t like it. Maybe it’s time to buy a domain name and start using Outlook.com to host my email.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

