Home > Computers and Internet > Block an add site isn’t that hard

Block an add site isn’t that hard

As part of my employment I’ve become rather intimate with how to work “Windows Firewall with Advanced Security”. Its rules on what to block or allow are great; its logging needs some work. There’s a super annoying ad that takes over my browser when I click on the calendar at www.dilbert.com. It’s so annoying I half wonder if it’s even an actual ad, or if it’s malware that took over the website. Either way, I’ve had to deal with it for a few weeks and didn’t want to deal with it anymore.

So I opened up the windows firewall, and created a rule blocking that IP Address from sending any packets to my computer. I tested it out, and it worked perfectly. No annoying ad. It made me feel rather empowered, kind of like the same feeling I got when I first blocked something from installing with UAC.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

