Home > Computers and Internet > What happened to Bluetooth Mice?

What happened to Bluetooth Mice?

Both Amanda and I like playing Age of Empires Online. I primarily use our desktop computer and she uses the laptop. But when I wasn’t using the desktop computer, she was stealing the desktop computers’ mouse! The laptop computer came with a wireless lazer mouse that connects over Bluetooth and the built-in track pad. Amanda primarily gets by with the trackpad, because it’s sufficient for simple web browsing, but it wasn’t sufficient for playing AoEO. So I pulled out the Bluetooth mouse for her to try, but that must have suffered from neglect because about only half of the mouse clicks were going through. So, she started taking the mouse from the desktop computer to use while playing AoEO.

Funny thing about the desktop mouse, is that it’s not a very good mouse. It’s a lazer wired USB mouse that came with the computer. It’s very plain, with no special features, but it gets the job done. Also, I primarily used the Bluetooth mouse when the laptop was my primary computer, so I was surprised that it wasn’t getting the job done.

Because of this I started shopping around for a new mouse for the laptop. Since the laptop has built-in Bluetooth, I started shopping for a Bluetooth mouse. I was surprised to learn that all of the new mice weren’t Bluetooth mice. I could still find a Bluetooth mouse, but they were all older models that hadn’t sold. Reading online I get the impression that what happened was that WiFi started interfering with Bluetooth. As WiFi became common, and as cell towers grew in strength, Bluetooth started being interfered with. Plus, people were saying that Bluetooth couldn’t handle the data throughput needed for mouse to computer communication. I find that to be odd, because it had sufficient throuput for years. As a consequence of all of this, Bluetooth is no longer a good technology to use with computer mice.

I see that nearly all laptops (and some all-in-ones) come with a Bluetooth receiver built-in. I wonder why the OEM’s are bothering to put it in. I realize that Bluetooth has great potential to wirelessly connect devices to your computer (camera’s, digital frames, mp3 players, etc), but I don’t see devices advertising their Bluethooth-ines. Plus, if Bluetooth doesn’t have the needed throughput for a mouse, I know I wouldn’t consider it as a means of syncing my devices. Seems like Bluetooth is becoming a solution in need of a problem.

  1. Jeff Tiberend
    September 6, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Thanks. I was wondering the same.

  2. Sarah
    October 22, 2013 at 4:27 am

    I thought I was just looking in all the wrong places. I am already using all the USB ports on my computer (and, by the way, decent USB hubs also seem to be few and far between these days), and the Bluetooth just sits there mostly unused. I had a great Bluetooth set from Microsoft (gorgeous dark blue set, too), but it stopped working.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

