Home > Health and wellness > I actually aged more than a day in a day

I actually aged more than a day in a day

Right now I am twenty-nine years old. Throughout my life people have asked if I feel older; say for example on a birthday or a graduation. Anytime I have been asked this I respond in the negative. I never “feel” like I’m a year older on my birthday. The reason is probably due to perspective and it’s hard to quantifiabley feel a day older (because it’s only been a day since I’ve become this age). But that changed this week.

My wife is pregnant and the baby is due in a month. For the last five years I’ve been driving a 2006 Chevy Cobalt Coupe. The car salesman sold it to me because “this is a good car for a bachelor”. When someone first saw my car they would say “that’s a good car for a bachelor”. Cobalt’s aren’t high-end cars by any means, but they do have a sporty look to them. But with a baby on the way a coupe isn’t going to cut it. The family needs a sedan for the baby. While it is physically possible to get a baby car seat in and out of the two-door Cobalt, it is more difficult than what it has to be.

So this week we purchased a used 2008 sedan. On our way home from the dealership I was thinking about how driving the new car felt different from my old car… and I felt old. A mere day earlier I was driving a “good car for a bachelor” and now I wasn’t, and it aged me. I actually aged more than a day in a day.

Categories: Health and wellness
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

