Home > Computers and Internet > Why doesn’t my Windows Computer go to sleep?

Why doesn’t my Windows Computer go to sleep?

I’ve noticed that regardless of how I configure my Windows 7 computer that it will never go to sleep. The screensaver will turn on and the screen will turn off eventually, but nothing more than that. I’ve disabled media sharing and the other usually suspects, but they haven’t helped. Tonight I figured out why.

Running powercfg –REQUESTS returned

C:\Windows\system32>powercfg -requests
DISPLAY:
None.

SYSTEM:
[DRIVER] High Definition Audio Device (HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0887&SUBSYS_
1043837B&REV_1002\4&32216d5&0&0001)
An audio stream is currently in use.

Something had requested that the audio driver prevent the system from going to sleep. Turns out it was Windows Media Player 12. I’ll listen to music, on and off, and when I need to turn it off I press the biggest control on Media Player, the pause button. This way, the music will resume where I’ve left off, the next time I want to listen to music. Turns out by pausing the song, instead of stopping it, Windows Media Player will keep the requesting that the device prevent the computer from going to sleep! Most annoying.

All hope is not lost though. Zune will release its handle eventually. I don’t know exactly when, but I just ran a little experiment and it showed that Zune does the right thing.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

