Home > Computers and Internet > Catalyst Control Center is a reason to not buy AMD graphics cards

Catalyst Control Center is a reason to not buy AMD graphics cards

Catalyst Control Center (CCC.exe) is a user mode program that was originated by ATI. ATI was purchased by AMD, and now all (that I’m aware of) AMD graphics cards use Catalyst Control Center. I don’t know exactly what CCC does, given that it runs in user mode, and a graphics card is going to communicate with software in kernel mode, but I suspect that CCC lets users tweak certain settings for higher end games. Given that I’m not a hard core gamer, and have never tweaked anything in CCC, I wouldn’t know for sure.

I’ve had a few times where all of the windows on my Windows 7 desktop, are very sluggish. Programs won’t start, user actions take forever, etc. One of the times this was happening Resource Monitor was open, but it wasn’t pointing out a single resource that was being a system wide bottleneck. I noticed a few times that CCC had an abnormally large amount of page faults, but that was fluctuating. After some time of this continuing on, I decided to kill the CCC.exe to see if that made any difference. Boy did it! The second it was killed my desktop becomes alive and active with programs starting and everything becoming responsive. Given that all of the graphics on the computer seemed to have still been operating just fine without CCC.exe running, I’m inclined to think that it’s not that important. For my next graphics card purchase, I think I’m going to go with one that doesn’t use CCC, because I don’t want a poor system wide experience because of some user mode program.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

