Home > Computers and Internet > Don’t get prompted to delete in Windows 8

Don’t get prompted to delete in Windows 8

I remember reading Improving our file management basics: copy, move, rename, and delete and being so excited that they decided to not prompt you when deleting a file in Windows 8. The reason is because Microsoft user guidelines mention how programs shouldn’t prompt for actions which are easily undoable. Restoring a file from the Recycle Bin is easily undoable. Yesterday I was deleting some files (some old wallpapers I’d picked up over a decade ago that weren’t so interesting anymore) from a Windows 8 computer and I noticed that I was being prompted to send files to the Recycle Bin. What the crap, that’s not supposed to be happening!

I right clicked on the Recycle Bin and selected it’s properties. There I saw a check box for “Display delete confirmation dialog”. While I’m not positive why it was checked, I suspect that the reason was because that particular computer was an upgrade from Windows 7. I don’t know for sure but I suspect that computers upgraded from a previous version of Windows will have that check box checked, but new installs of Windows 8 will not have it checked. Some form of consistency from upgrades. Windows will still prompt if you’re pressing shift + delete (don’t send to recycle bin, actually delete), and I guess since that’s an action which isn’t easily undoable, so I’m okay with that. For a moment there though, I was taken aback that a feature I was excited about in Windows 8 didn’t make it into the RTM version; thankfully it did.

To reduce one source of annoying prompts in Windows 8, right click on the Recycle Bin, select properties, and uncheck “Display delete confirmation dialog”. I highly recommend it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: